The two governing bodies of CLUSTER are Steering Committee (proposing and managing actions) and the General Assembly (approving actions and reports). The operative initiatives are proposed and managed by Task Forces (transversal issues), Departments (issues related to particular scientific fields) and Working Groups (very specific activities with a limited duration)

The Presidency of Cluster is personal and not attached to universities. The Cluster President must be a Rector or President of one of the full members and is supported by a Secretary General to be appointed by him among his/her staff members. The Presidency rotates every 2 years and re-election is possible.

The Presidency is supported by a full time staff unit funded by the consortium.

Governing Bodies:
GA: General Assembly – members are rectors or presidents
SC: Steering Committee – members are rectors, presidents or their delegates

Task Forces:

  • ID: The Task Force on International Dimension
  • GAST: Grants and Application Support Team: helps Cluster members to submit projects and get funding
  • SE3P: SINO-EU Engineering Educational Platform


  • ME: Mechanical Engineering
  • SES: Sustainable Energy Systems
  • IND: Industrial Engineering
  • CIV: Civil Engineering

Working Groups:

  • Dual Masters Policy Group
  • Advisory Board (cooperation with companies)
  • Technology Entrepreneurship